It's a gameshow MMO that isn't terrible.

It's a gameshow MMO that isn't terrible.

Seeing as I am not rich, I don’t often get to play a game right when it comes out. To extrapolate on that thought, it’s not often many people get to play a game the minute it’s released. On June 1st at 7:25 Pacific Time I was sent a reminder that 1 vs 100 would be starting in 5 minutes. Undistracted by other things, I clicked the reminder and was whisked away to backstage. Here I got an overview of  what the game was all about (seeing as I’d never watched the show, this was a relief), and soon I was joined by another avatar whom I’d never seen before. I decided to give him the benefit of the doubt though, and a couple minutes later it was show time.

I assume the live host will be a regular thing on 1 vs 100, and while it all seemed a little forced at times, the host was genuinely interesting to listen too. He spouted off about how many people were there (evidently over 56,000 at one point if I remember right) and Major Nelson joined in to talk as well. After their spiel the computer finally decided who would go where, and much to my dismay I was neither the 1 or the 100. I was part of the crowd, and as part of the crowd I was not actually a part of the game in any sense that I could affect the outcome. This upset me, but I got over it once the show started.

You learn fast that this is a game to play with friends. Starting out I was put into a group of four with some not very talkative people. I was having a decent amount of fun answering trivia questions, but the in game advertising and seemingly constant “Stat Breaks” were killing the mood. It’s here that I’ll interject and say that anyone like myself who was afraid of cheating need not worry. The questions are rapid fire and there’s no person with a fast enough computer out there who could find the correct answer within any decent amount of time. The questions are also pretty scattershot ranging from who won the Kentucky Derby this year to what Michael Phelps claimed was his favorite NES game on Twitter.

The host is a real person who actually talks... most of the time...

The host is a real person who actually talks... most of the time...

But I digress. I was only having a decent amount of fun. For each question I got right I would receive points to my lifetime score which will evidently help my chances of being important in the future (aka being the “one” or the “mob”). Then I was invited into a private chat by one of my buddies, and the trivia got a lot more fun. If you’re the smartest one in your group, and your friends become dependent on you for answers, it would even be possible to fake them out by shouting the wrong answer at the right time. I didn’t try it, but it could become a great technique to insure your victory. We were shouting out answers, and watching the in game advertising even became a possibility when there’s people there to make fun of it all with.

I was set to write off 1 vs 100, and had someone on my friendslist not joined in as well, you would probably be reading an article with a completely different tone right now. All I can say is give it a chance. The beta is still going one, and come June 7th you’ll get your chance, followed by some E3 centric trivia. It appears as though the real season doesn’t start until later this year, but that’s just more time for them to hopefully trim some of the fat and make it all a little bit faster pace. To learn more about the actual gameplay (which I admittedly skirted over) you can head here to the official site. Everything you want to know should be there for your reading pleasure.

GamerZines publishes a regular, free magazine for Xbox 360 gamers, called 360Zineclick here to download the latest issue for free.

