Brotherly love doesn't run THAT deep in the West.

Brotherly love doesn't run THAT deep in the West.

Today saw the release of Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood. No, it’s not Call of Duty with a more… mexicany name… it’s actually its own series. Gamerzines gave Bound in Blood a worthwhile 87 out of 100 just last week, and now many other publications have chosen to reward Bound in Blood with 80’s and higher, and only a few scores falling below 70.

I believe it’s now fair to say that Bound in Blood is a worthwhile addition to any gamer’s library. Early today I purchased the game, and am at the beginning of Act II (I decided I had to check out the multiplayer too. Pretty cool.) There aren’t a lot of people online right now though, but I hope that’s remedied in the near future *wink GO BUY IT wink*.

I’m not here to talk about how much fun Bound in Blood is though, I’m here to talk about the time in which it is set. More to the point, the time in which the beginning of the game is set. There’s no doubt that westerns can be and usually are awesome. Just look at Red Dead Revolver, Gun, or heck, even the first Call of Juarez wasn’t terrible. There’s plenty of inspiration and scenarios out there for the much under appreciated genre. I know that I can’t wait for Red Dead Redemption, it’s at the top of my must buy list for next year.

Don't tell you don't want to play this

Don't tell you don't want to play this

Nay, what I believe we can learn from Call of Juarez is that the (American) Civil War can be a viable setting for video games outside of the RTS genre. I’d always assumed there was a good reason why there has never been a Civil War game, but Bound in Blood reminded of me of something. THESE ARE VIDEO GAMES! They don’t need to make perfect sense, they just need to be fun. I’d always believed there must be some problem with the weapons. No, BiB has proven that Civil War weapons are fun.

Perhaps it would be taken the wrong way? BiB has the McCalls play on the side of the Confederate army, this caused a pretty funny Gamefaqs forum debate, but not much else. Most people realized that the McCalls probably weren’t racist or slave owners. Maybe the problem is just that there aren’t any interesting scenarios. Once again, NO.

Antietam, Bull Run, GETTYSBURG! These are all battles that most people have heard of. Just take some of the big events, string them together. There’s almost too much to fit into one game, so let’s at least make one. Despite what I said in the first paragraph, BiB does have a slight Call of Duty feel which fits the game well. I could see this system working perfectly throughout a full fledged game. As for story, that could be handled CoD style as well, switching between the Union and the Confederates.

Westerns are great, don't get me wrong. I just want a full game with the Civil War flavor.

Westerns are great, don't get me wrong. I just want a full game with the Civil War flavor.

Perhaps I’m just having a moment of wishful thinking coming off the high of a new game. From firing cannons to throwing lanterns, everything just seemed to gel perfectly and scream “Civil War Game!” at the top of its lungs. We’ll see if others feel the same once more people get their hands on the game. It came out today in the U.S., and Europe can hear the Call of Juarez this Friday.

